Who are these kids and why are they calling me mom?

Sometimes you just have to put on your big girl panties and deal with it

People Magazine, HSM3, and Sarah Palin November 3, 2008

Filed under: Family,Kids,Life,Other Stuff — Steph @ 10:40 am

So it’s not big secret I read the celebrity news magazines.  Not real sure why, I just do.  I subscribe only to People but I read the online stories from a few.

So two weeks ago I get my People and I always read it cover to cover, of course there’s a review of HSM3 in there.  I was looking forward to that review because their reviews are usually pretty accurate, but I was really disappointed in this one.  Instead of rating the movie from the perspective of the “target audience” they reviewed it from the perspective of their adult reviewer.  Then at one point it said something about it being a movie about “chaste” high school Seniors and the kids would probably love it.  What bothered me was the way they used the word “chaste”  as if it’s a dirty word?!  That got me to thinking, this is SO what’s wrong with this world!!  Would they have given it more stars if the kids had been experimenting with sex before going off to college?!  Considering there were kids in the movie theater from age 4 to 16 I personally was quite pleased with the chasteness of the movie.  Actually ALL of the movies.  I was thinking back to the big movies from our parents’ time and our time.  Grease was hardly “chaste”, listen to the words of some of the songs and you’ll truly blush, then there’s the teen pregnancy scare, the teasing Sandy for being virginal, etc…  The boys in the movie were total cads people!!  Then there’s Footloose which dealt with teenage drinking and provocative dancing, etc…  Not that I don’t LOVE both of those movies, but that doesn’t mean I’d let my 8 year old watch them!  Then move to the 80’s and you have Cry Baby and Hairspray!  WHOLLY CRAP!!  I LOVE those movies, loved them when they came out, love them now, but I bought the original version of Hairspray on DVD and a copy of Cry Baby after the new Hairspray came out and I was like OMG!  Needless to say I didn’t let Joey watch it!  When did “chastity” become a dirty word?!  When did wholesome, clean cut movies become something deserving 2 stars??

That brings me to my next issue…  In last week’s issue there was an interview with Sarah Palin and her husband where they answered reader’s questions.  Let me just say I like Sarah Palin, she sold the state jet dude!  ROCK ON!  Plus as a woman from Wyoming of course she reminds me of every woman I know.  She’s strong, she knows where her state’s income is (oil, coal, etc…), she hunts, she fishes, she is not afraid to be exactly who she is and I love that about her.  However in this interview of course one reader asked how they felt when they heard about Bristol’s pregnancy.  I am para-phrasing because I am too lazy to go grab the magazine, but she said something like “well there was a moment of ‘oh wow’ and then we just moved forward, Bristol has always been very mature for her age and she’ll do fine”.  I know it was a totally benign comment and her way of deflecting the media storm surrounding a very personal family matter, but it just bothered me so much she said that.  Teen pregnancy is SUCH an epidemic right now, and it’s SO contagious.  So I would have so liked to hear her say something like “well it’s a family issue we’re dealing with and Bristol has a long, hard road ahead of her, and I’d like to take this opportunity to encourage ALL parents to speak openly and honestly with your children about safe sex”.  Instead she says “well Bristol is mature for her age”.  Like Jamie Lynn Spears mom couldn’t have used the same argument?!  I get it’s a very private matter that became very public and hurtful things were said, but I would have had SO much more respect for her if she’d used her very public image as a means to encourage parents to open their eyes.  Kind of like “if it can happen to us it can happen to you, please, please for God’s sake protect your kids!!”  <sigh>

I’m sure others will disagree with me here.  My mom does, she thinks Sarah Palin walks on water and says it’s my age that makes me feel this way.  I say “of course it’s my age!”  My 8-year-old knows more about sex than I do!!  When he was in kindergarten he came home one day and said “mom guess what we found on the playground?”  I’m like “what?”  In my head I’m thinking a bird or a leaf or a rock or something, he says “we found a condom!”  I had two thoughts, first ICK!!!  Second, I said “how do you know it was a condom?”  Well my friend Gage told us what it was and what it’s for.  I’m like “oh yeah, and what’s it for?”  He goes… “to protect your pee pee”  I was like OMG!!!  I’m not sure what’s worse, the used condom on the school playground or one of the other 5 year olds knowing exactly what it was and what it was for?!  Since then it’s been an ongoing battle.  He hears about sex from other kids on the playground, on the bus, etc…  We’ve had the “sex talk” in terms a 7 year old can understand and so when my mom says “it’s your age” I’m thinking DAMN STRAIGHT!  Because my mom didn’t have to have that talk with me until I was MUCH older than Joey was when we started discussing it.  Then there’s the fact by the time she did get around to it it was too late, I’d learned it all in school or from my friends.  So yeah, it’s my age, and also my not having blinders on to the world around us right now and my knowing there was a pregnant 11 year old in our town not long ago!?  You think her parents said “she’s mature for her age, it will be OK?!”  <sigh>

So I am stepping off my soap box now, but please take it from me, talk to your kids about SAFE sex, and when you see HSM whether it’s 1, 2, or 3 with your kids, take the time to think to yourself, thank GOD, these kids are portrayed as chaste and wholesome!!  In my book that earns the movie 5 stars rather than 2!

 

3 Responses to “People Magazine, HSM3, and Sarah Palin”

  1. Kay Cashman Says:

    I think you’re right about Sarah Palin. I am Kay Cashman, the publisher and executive editor of Petroleum News, which is the state’s only standalone oil and gas publication, and co-author of a book called “Sarah takes on Big Oil,” that tells the story of Palin’s battle with Alaska’s three largest oil producers. (It’s factual, so both sides of the story are told.)

    Here are two editorials and one article that might help you in discussions with your Mom about Gov. Palin. One was written by the Anchorage Daily News, which has endorsed Obama BUT was disturbed at the misinformation about Palin and the gas pipeline in an Associated Press article: http://www.adn.com/opinion/view/story/574868.html

    Another was by a Juneau Empire editor, who quoted Democrats in defense of Palin: http://www.juneauempire.com/stories/102908/loc_349549309.shtml

    And the third was written by me and published in the Calgary Herald and St. Cloud Times: http://www.canada.com/calgaryherald/news/story.html?id=c51cde1e-6e14-4df0-8621-e7b68f8b26b2

  2. Ranisa Says:

    The condom thing was HALARIOUS!!! I am so with you…but I do have the same feeling the BO will be the next president…about 90%, but I am keeping my fingers crossed!

  3. Terra Says:

    Now that it is over, you do know that Palin supports abstinence only education right? That was why there was such controversy about her daughter being pregnant. (ROFL, you are such a closet liberal.) I agree with you about it being private though, I really wish the media didn’t make such an issue about that.


Leave a Reply

