Who are these kids and why are they calling me mom?

Sometimes you just have to put on your big girl panties and deal with it

Winter Storm Watch October 10, 2008

Filed under: Family,Fire,Kids,Life — Steph @ 8:03 am

Nope I’m not kidding.  I figured it would blow over, but nope.  It’s snowing.  I think this is the earliest we’ve had snow in years.  We usually have it by mid-late October but not this early.  We have a watch because we are supposed to get 3-5 inches today and another 6 tomorrow.  Fun, fun, fun!!  I am ready for Winter.  I worry about the other house still being open to the elements since the insurance company won’t get off their ass and get their stuff done so we can cover it up.  But other than that I am ready, BRING.IT.ON!!

Speaking of insurance.  Good hands people my ass, my dad says I should start saying that every time I have a conversation with our claims rep.  Or rather his voicemail.  All I can say is, if we didn’t have my family and our community we would have been in real trouble.  Allstate left us high and dry, they said “check in to a hotel, save your receipts for meals and necessities”.  Seriously?!  OK, I’ll find a hotel that will take my two traumatized dogs, my three traumatized cats, my two kids, and HEY, maybe they’ll feed and clothe us for free once we drain our checking and savings on this?!

Instead we stayed with my mom, Joey’s school, my MIL’s work, and a neighbor took up a collection for us, and the Red Cross gave us some money for clothes.  When you are left with only the clothes on your back you just don’t have the money to rent a hotel room, buy the necessities, buy clothes, and eat.  Allstate didn’t send us anything for a full 2 weeks.  Then they sent a quarter of what it cost.  So they sent more last week after putting us in a rental we had to turn the utilities on in (we couldn’t transfer them because we were city and this house is technically in the county) and stock with food and staples.  Know what it costs to stock a house with absolutely everything you need for a family of 4?  Not dishes, pots, pans, etc…  we’re talking food, toilet paper, toothpaste, shampoo, soap, tissues, etc…  Think back to the day you moved out of your mom and dad’s house, but add 2 kids to the deal.

Thankfully we had Wal-Mart gift cards from various people (thank you all SO MUCH!!) so that helped SO much, but we are totally out of money.  So they were supposed to send money out last Thursday and send it overnight so we’d have it.  They were very sorry for not considering all of this, etc…  it went out on Tuesday via Priority Mail.  <sigh>  The excuse?  Our claims rep “forgot” and “DHL doesn’t deliver to Wyoming”.  What about overnight mail or Fed Ex?  Seriously, we are not in the middle of no where people.

Can you tell I’m frustrated?!

In the good news department Joey was selected to test for the G.A.T.E (Gifted and Talented) program FINALLY!  YAY!!  One of the most frustrating things about our school district is they have no programs for kids like Joey until 3rd grade.  So until 3rd grade they are left to sit through regular classes bored, and disrupt people.  Hopefully he’ll get admitted to the G.A.T.E program next month and that will help alleviate some of his boredom in regular classes.  I will say though, he is TOTALLY my son, math takes him more time, he excels in anything to do with Science, Social Studies, English, Grammar, Spelling, Reading, etc… but math he has to think about.  So funny how that works!!

 

3 Responses to “Winter Storm Watch”

  1. […] blood draw this morning, then ran to her orthodontist appointment. After that appointment we met Steph for lunch, then went over to her new house for a visit. I had all these wonderful things to say […]

  2. Nicole Says:

    Tim and I have a bet going on how long it will be till we get snow. I am sorry you got it so early.

  3. Coach Billy Says:

    Don’t worry about the 7 am practices. We have alot of fun coffee for the parents and donuts for the kids. Looking forward to working with Joey. I hope he has alot of fun this year….and maybe learns something about hockey.

    CYA

    Coach!


Leave a Reply

