Who are these kids and why are they calling me mom?

Sometimes you just have to put on your big girl panties and deal with it

The Vanessa Hudgens scandal… September 8, 2007

Filed under: Other Stuff — Steph @ 12:14 am

I don’t usually blog about things like this, but this just has me irked…

Joey is a HUGE fan of both High School Musicals. He’s eagerly anticipating the finalization of the contract negotiations an waiting for news of a release date.

I am just irritated they are making such a big deal out of this. I obviously went immediately to my parental controls and blocked her name from the search engines so my curious 7-year-old wouldn’t stumble on to her photos, but come on people!!

She’s an 18-year-old girl who took a photo for her boyfriend. How was she supposed to know it was going to get out? I’m sure one of their friends hers or his, made a bundle off of those photos. Those are the people who should be ashamed.

I am livid at the statement Disney released today. Here’s a clip from it I read on Us Weekly Online:

“Vanessa has apologized for what was obviously a lapse in judgment. We hope she’s learned a valuable lesson.”

Now there are of course rumors they’ll boot her from HSM3. I personally will be disgusted if they do. Why am I taking this stance?

1. This is the same channel that aired “The Princess Diaries” and “The Princess Diaries 2” AND “Ella Enchanted” about 19 times in the last month. Did they not see Anne Hathaway’s performance in “Brokeback Mountain”?? HELLO PEOPLE!! Her role in that movie was WAY worse than a silly nude camera phone photo. I guess it’s different because she got paid for it??

2. What lesson should she learn exactly? That’s it’s not OK for her to have a private life? That her friends or someone else she trusted will sell her out?

3. She stood up, admitted the photos were her, and apologized. That’s more than a lot of stars have done in similar situations.

4. Disney isn’t all “Original Disney Movies” and cartoons people. They own other broadcasting companies. They own ABC. The same station that kept Rosie O’Donnell on the air and kept Isaiah Washington on staff. He only got fired because other cast members were threatening to leave. It’s also the same station that airs all kinds of shows that really push the limits of what’s acceptable on cable TV and the same station that airs soaps like “General Hospital” that just had “The Girls Next Door” on during an episode.

My thoughts I guess are, Disney isn’t exactly in the position to be acting as a moral compass and if they decide to stop contract negotiations with Vanessa and ruins HSM3 because she took a private photo for her boyfriend, I will just be ticked. First of all, it will break my son’s heart as he LOVES those movies and the cast and has NO clue what she’s done or why anyone would care, and 2nd it would just be so dang hypocritical.

I don’t know why it bothers me. Usually I ignore these kinds of things. I of course have an opinion when I read stories in magazines or on the tabloid blogs, but usually they don’t bother me. This one has.

So, what are your thoughts?

 

2 Responses to “The Vanessa Hudgens scandal…”

  1. Nikki Says:

    Sincerely i understand ur point of view. ut I don’t think that disney is being hypocritical at all. Yes they own abc and other companies, but abc isn’t family oriented. Abc family is family oriented. Also Anne Hathaway was booted from disney. Do your research She wanted more adult roles thats the reason she did Brokeback Mountain. She was gonna do Princess Diaries 3 but think…her career would be stuck, she needes more serious roles.
    But agreeing with you everyone is making a huge deal about this. She isnt a huge S/l/u/t she took a nude pic for her boyfriend. Celebs do this, normal ppl do this. Unfortunately she wasnt careful, which u have to be extra of when ur a celeb. But come on ppl get of her back. She is a very talented girl, having a horny boyfriend and wanting to make him happy doesnt suddenly make her a bad singer or dancer. Disney shouldn’t fire her but what i heard is that she is already replaced by one of the Cheeta girls. It’s a shame, but she will have a great career ahead of her.

  2. felipe Says:

    I agree with you, I think it happened cause now Vanessa is a famous person.
    In the first movie Vanessa was only famous between kids and now she has become a big star. But later HSM became a phenomenom, she released her solo album, she did the HSM sequel and started dating Zac in real life, consequently she became a tabloid and papparazzi victim.

    Since she is dating Zac Efron we can see papparazzi photos of the couple in the gossip magazines and now she’s involved in a scandal.

    But I don’t think it’s gonna ruin her career, that’s all part of hollywood, the only difference is that she is not only a Disney actress anymore, she became a hollywood celebrity and she have to learn how to deal with that fact.


Leave a Reply

