Who are these kids and why are they calling me mom?

Sometimes you just have to put on your big girl panties and deal with it

Drumroll please….. April 10, 2007

Filed under: Family,Life — Steph @ 10:59 pm

I decided this warranted a separate post. If you’re totally lost please see the previous two posts, I am too tired to copy and paste the links!

Please welcome to the world my very perfect nephew Lucas Dillon. He arrived at 6 PM, weighing in at 8 lbs. 12 oz. – 20 inches long – 15 inch head!! Can I get a collective OUCH??!!! My sister-in-law is absolutely, without a doubt my hero!! Her epidural broke so she delivered him with the benefit of NO drugs what-so-ever,
from about 6 cm to delivery she had no help pain wise. She did absolutely amazing, she never yelled once!! I wanted to yell for her!! She had a small tear, 2nd degree because he came so fast once she started pushing. She is as of now still not using any pain meds outside of Tylenol. She said it hurts a heck of a lot less now than it did a few hours ago so she figures she’ll live.

BTW, she went in to labor on her own. She pretty well started last night (despite drinking two big glasses of water and laying on her left side as was so kindly suggested) and progressing this morning so when she finally called her OB for his opinion on the situation with the hospital he said “come in to the office and let’s see what we have going on”. When she went in she was at a 5 and 100% effaced so he said “well, they’re gonna have to make room” so he admitted her and she progressed all on her own. I guess we showed them!!

I had the privilege of being present when he entered this world and I can tell you he is amazing just like his mom and dad!

His Apgar scores were 9 and 9. He had a blue toe keeping him from getting a perfect 10. Not bad for a baby with kidney damage!

We don’t know the extent or severity of the damage yet. His kidneys should un-dilate now according to the urologists so we just have to see what lasting effects he will have, but I can tell you that at this point he’s perfect, he’s eating, peeing, and doing everything babies should do (except crying, he truly doesn’t cry, as of 9 PM I’d heard a total of two small squawks from him, he’s just so mellow!). He has an ultrasound in the morning sometime to see what the kidneys are looking like and the pediatrician is thinking an extra day’s stay just to be safe, but at this point they’re not even remotely concerned about him.
Oh, and her mother didn’t show up. She heard through the grapevine he’d be coming today but instead of being an adult about it she made sure to tell everyone who would listen how badly she’d been treated and how horrible it was she had to hear about it from strangers while my mom and I were there to support HER daughter. Then when my brother called to tell them the baby was here (and they were his FIRST call even though my niece and nephew were waiting on pins and needles to see if they had a brother or sister) she didn’t answer the phone. Then she called back and was very snarky. Maybe missing the birth of her grandson will cause her to evaluate her actions and what caused her not being invited to his birth in the first place and she’ll grow up and apologize. I was very hurt for Amy, but she’s the strongest person I know so she’s handling it with grace and is determined to not let this undermine the birth of her son. As of 9 PM (30 minutes past visiting hours) they hadn’t been up to see the baby or Amy.

Oh, and please forgive the picture of me! I didn’t realize I was to be in the picture! LOL I thought she was just snapping the baby, and it’s been a LONG day!

I can’t thank you all enough for your prayers and support!! It truly, truly, meant the world to all of us today!!

Also, I just HAVE to mention. If you’re all crossing your legs and feeling faint after reading all of this, I can make it worse!! At about 3 PM in the room next door, there was a lot of commotion. Alarms sounding, nurses running, doctors running. My mom being a nurse employed by the hospital had to go see what was needed. She wasn’t needed but we soon met a couple who had just delivered a 12 lb. 4 oz. baby boy!! HOLY COW!!!! His mom is not big, his dad is not big, he (the baby who’s name I didn’t get) is HUGE!! The doctor who was the same as Amy’s said this baby is a record for him as did one of the long time L&D nurses at our hospital. He was stuck, he was too big, they had to dislocate his shoulder to get him out so he’s in the NICU, but he’s doing very well now and his mom is definitely another of my heroes as she also didn’t yell much!! YIKES!!!

 

4 Responses to “Drumroll please…..”

  1. Jen Says:

    CONGRATULATIONS
    He is a big boy! 🙂

    Praise the Lord Amys mum didn’t show up. She doesnt need that at the moment.

    Please keep us informed about Lucas’ ultrasound

  2. Terra Says:

    I am glad everything is going so well! Give them a big congrats for me. He is lovely (well as lovely as a new born can be 🙂

    Let us know how it goes, we all are on pins and needles waiting for the “everything is perfect”.

    Much love

  3. Morgan Says:

    Awwwwwe! What a cutie! How wonderful that your SIL has you supporting her…you both sound like amazing women. 15″ head? Gracious!

  4. Atasha Says:

    Praise God. And congrats to the family. That is a big boy. My SIL’s boy was 12lbs 9 oz. Simply impossible to believe and she’s a small thing also. Both of mine were under 8 lbs.

    I’m so happy to read this.

    Take Care


Leave a Reply

