Who are these kids and why are they calling me mom?

Sometimes you just have to put on your big girl panties and deal with it

Please pray for my dear friend… April 4, 2007

Filed under: Family,Life — Steph @ 7:26 pm

Today has been a very bittersweet day for me. I didn’t want to put it all in the same post so I split them in to two. My dear friend who’s 65 years young, is dying. He has cancer, his 3rd bout with it. First he had prostate cancer which he beat with no problem at all. Then he was diagnosed a couple of years ago with throat cancer which he again beat. This time it wasn’t so easy and it took a serious toll. About 7 months ago he was diagnosed with stomach cancer and the prognosis was “a few months”. He refused to take that so he’s been doing chemo and anything he can to beat it but it’s been quickly wearing him down. Yesterday he was admitted with a serious case of pneumonia. He has pneumonia in both lungs. They didn’t expect him to live through the night, he did but they are suggesting we say our “goodbye’s”.

At this point I am just praying God’s will be done. He has suffered a lot the past year and as much as I know he’s not ready to go, I fear it’s his time. I love him so much, he’s one of my very favorite people in this world. He’s like a surrogate grandpa and is by far one of my dearest friends. Please keep he and his family in your prayers, he is very much the patriarch, heart, and soul of a large family and they’re going to need a lot of prayers to get through this as I’m afraid, will I.

 

Leave a Reply

