Who are these kids and why are they calling me mom?

Sometimes you just have to put on your big girl panties and deal with it

Happy New Year! January 1, 2007

Filed under: Life,Meme — Steph @ 2:32 pm

I stole this New Years meme from Nicole. :o) I so love doing these things! Fun to meet new people and learn about them! What does “meme” mean anyway??

So, without further adieu…

1. What did you do in 2006 that you’d never done before?

A. Biggest one is obvious, adopted our daughter. :o)
B. I also stopped fertility treatments which isn’t a lifelong thing obviously, but certainly felt like it!
C. Quit my job to stay home with Joey (and now Elizabeth)
D. Was a single mother for 30 days at a time

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I didn’t make any last year, this year my resolution is to just live a happier, healthier life and not stress so much about the things I can’t change. In living a healthier life I hope to change some of our bad habits around here!

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

My friend Patty
My cousin Tierra (just three days ago)
My friend Angie (pregnant again :o)
My friend Christy

This year this list will be LONG because everyone I know is pregnant. :o)

4. Did anyone close to you die?

No, thank goodness

5. What countries did you visit?

None, but my husband worked in Australia, does that count?

6. What would you like to have in 2007 that you lacked in 2006?

A healthier lifestyle, more lunches with my friends, no more home repairs, more money in the bank and less debt (which goes hand in hand with the home repairs), maybe another baby, 50 lbs. less of me (stole that one from Nicole but added 30 lbs.), less stress, less drama, more travel, a bit bigger car, a clean house all the time, laundry folded and done all the time, a laundry and housecleaning fairy, more fun with my kids since I’m home with them all the time now, a little more time out for myself, more time to read, more time to write.

7. What dates from 2006 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

January 8, 2006 – Joey turned 6 :o(
March 2006 – Stopped fertility treatments
March 27,2006 – House was FINALLY done!!
May 2006 – Quit job, found out a child needed a home. :o)
June 2006- Started adoption process, home study, etc…
July 2006- Homestudy done, paperwork done, waiting for baby
August 8, 2006 – Found out delivery was imminent, induction would take place the 13th of August
August 11, 2006 – Headed to California to spend the weekend with our birth mother and wait for Monday induction. Found out in the airport in San Francisco that I had a daughter who decided not to wait for the induction! :o) Met my daughter that evening!
August 12, 2006 – Joe, Joey, and my mom meet Elizabeth!
August 13, 2006 – Were granted custody of Elizabeth!
August 14, 2006 – Left Modesto after a check up for Elizabeth and a visit to the lawyer’s office to meet her
August 21, 2006 – Officially given permission to bring Elizabeth home to Wyoming!
August 22, 2006 – Elizabeth meets the rest of her family!
August 28, 2006 – Joe heads to Australia for his first rotation
September 3, 2006 – Joey starts first grade
October 7, 2006 – Joe turned 30
October 8, 2006 – Celebrated our 6th wedding anniversary
November 23, 2006 – Thanksgiving and my aunt’s birthday, she died 2 years ago in March and was very much missed at Thanksgiving, she would have been 40
December 12, 2006 – Interlocutory hearing takes place, the judge decides the adoption is in Elizabeth’s best interest and grants us full physical custody with intent to sign the final petition in February. Elizabeth is officially ours! :o)
December 25, 2006 – Our first Christmas as a family of 4!!

Whew! Long list huh?

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

I don’t know that it’s an achievement or a miracle or a blessing, but we added Elizabeth to our family and for me that’s our biggest achievement by far! Joey started 1st grade. Quit my job to stay home with the kids. Joe took a job overseas at a rather large pay raise and even though he’s gone for a month at a time, he’s home and off work for a month at a time so we see him a lot more. We finished our house which was a HUGE accomplishment after 5 full years of it being in constant dis-repair and downright demolished! Celebrated our 6th year of marriage!

9. What was your biggest failure?

Let my parents down, that’s a HUGE understatement but I’m not going in to detail on my blog about it

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

No, I was really healthy this year!! I had Pneumonia a couple of months ago and was sick for about 2 weeks but it could have been a lot worse. My endometriosis is back in force, but that’s something I always deal with so I don’t count it!

11. What was the best thing you bought?

We didn’t really buy anything this year, we put all of our money in to finishing our house and adopting Elizabeth.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

Not mine! I don’t really know who’s behavior I would celebrate this year?! Everyone has trouble with being who they want to be on any given day. I guess I would celebrate the behavior of anyone who was happy with their own behavior!

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

Joe’s family’s

14. Where did most of your money go?

In to our home repairs and then in to our adoption.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Joe’s new job that will allow him to do experience things he’s always wanted to experience and move him up the ladder in to hopefully a desk job that he’s been working towards. After 5 years with his company it’s nice to see him get to move where he wants to move. Our daughter obviously! Joey is growing up and while I’m sad about it, I am always amazed at the person he is! He has some trouble with behavior in school, he gets bored, but he is an amazing student, an amazing artist, hugely creative, very articulate, very sensitive and caring, and a very tender hearted, loving kid! He’s also just an amazing big brother and I am just so happy he got to show everyone what kind of a big brother he can be!! Finishing our house!! It still needs a new roof, new siding, and new windows, but I no longer have just one working bathroom, a layer of sheetrock dust everywhere, rooms without doors and flooring, etc… I re-connected with a few old friends and that has been just awesome!

16. What song will always remind you of 2006?

I don’t really know, I don’t think of music in terms of years… I sometimes see those specials on VH1, the “I love the 90’s, 80’s, 70’s”, etc… and I’m like “huh, that song was in 1995? I liked several different songs this year, just like every other year!

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder? b) thinner or fatter? c) richer or poorer?

More fulfilled, calmer, wiser, equal money wise since our income went up but we had two major expenses this year, definitely heavier after the hormone treatments, more emotional for sure.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Reflecting, thinking before I spoke (always), spending time with my kids and family rather than working, being outside, spending time to myself, spending time with my friends, taking better care of myself, being a bit more physically active. Enjoying my life rather than stressing over the things I can’t change. Yardwork, it relaxes me! Housework, I hate it but I love my house clean and orderly.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Eating junk, working, stressing, watching TV (we watch a lot in the evenings and I really dislike the noise), sitting on my butt!

20. How did you be spend the New Year night?

We always go to my mom’s and have a nice dinner and lots of yummy, fattening goodies we’ll regret today! Then we usually play cards but last night we just hung out and it was awesome! It was my brother, sister-in-law, nephew, us, our kids, my mom and dad, Joe’s mom, and my mom and dad’s best friends.

21. Did you fall in love in 2006?

Yes, with my daughter. I fell much more deeply in love with my son and my husband, every year we weather makes the love that much deeper.

22. How many one-night stands?

None

23. What was your favorite TV program?

Grey’s Anatomy


24. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

No, I try not to hate people. I definitely dislike certain members of Joe’s family more than I did a year ago if that’s possible.

25. What was the best book you read?


Wow, I read several I loved! My absolute favorite would have to be Cross by James Patterson, it gave Alex Cross some closure. I read a lot of series books, I like to follow things through and I hate to be left hanging so I definitely gravitate towards authors who write series books, especially those that add in new, fun, characters each book and follow them through! My favorites are: “The Plum Series” by Janet Evanovich, “The Barnaby Series” by Janet Evanovich ” The Cross Series” by James Patterson of course, The “In Death” series with Eve Dallas by JD Robb (Nora Roberts under a different pen name), those are probably my all time favorites followed closely by the Plum series which is amazing for a good laugh, and the Cross series. Really any of Nora Roberts books, I just love her writing and it doesn’t matter what it is, and I live for her trilogies! Actually Joe went to the store today and bought me two more trilogies since I’m out of books!

26. What was the best movie you saw?

I really, really, really, enjoyed “The Family Stone” the other night. I want a house full of crazy one day just like that and I love a movie that will cause me so much emotion. Really though I saw several good movies this year! It just stands out because we just watched it Saturday and I enjoyed it SO much.

27. What was the most beautiful day you spent during the year?

There were so many this year. I can’t pick one day, but the 10 days we spent in San Francisco were ALL perfect! We went to the zoo and two aquariums, the beach, and Pier 39 and every day was just so much fun and the weather was amazing! We also stayed in a very nice hotel that was a lot of fun!! I loved that it was so cool after being in 105 degree weather at home!

28. Your best Christmas present?

I got a big full length mirror/jewelry box like one my mom has had for a couple of years and I’ve just LOVED forever! It’s so pretty! We didn’t have a real materialistic Christmas this year, we spent our money on the kids because we are still paying on the adoption and the house and Joe’s job transition has been expensive. My best Christmas present was just my family!

29. Your wish for everyone for the new year?

Health, love and happiness which I know is generic but really is the best I can wish for everyone and anyone!

 

Leave a Reply

