Who are these kids and why are they calling me mom?

Sometimes you just have to put on your big girl panties and deal with it

Thursday Thirteen #4 December 21, 2006

Filed under: Meme — Steph @ 2:31 pm
In honor of my ever worsening insomnia, my 13 this week is:
13 Things I’ve Tried to Help Me Sleep.

1. Drugs – Amien, Ambien CR, Lunesta, and trusty old Benadryl (the Benadryl works but I feel drugged the next day)

2. Teas – Sleepy time teas

3. Hot baths – even tried aromatherapy baths, and especially baths with lavender calming stuff in them

4. Sleeping mask – tried plain, heating, AND cooling

5. Ear plugs – When Joe’s home he snores something awful

6. Meditation and prayer – I’ve tried ridding myself of all negative energies/thoughts before bed

7. Aromatherapy air fresheners, candles, and machines

8. Aromatherapy stuffed animal – he’s a moose :o)

9. Lavender calming lotion/body creams

10. Tranquility fountains

11. Music – tried ALL kinds of music both in the room and in my IPod

12. Room darkening blinds – There’s a street light right outside of our window so I use room darkening shades and blinds

13. Soothing sounds machine – tried everything from a stream to birds chirping.

Links to other Thursday Thirteens!
1. (leave your link in comments, I’ll add you here!)

Get the Thursday Thirteen code here!

The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others comments. It’s easy, and fun! Be sure to update your Thirteen with links that are left for you, as well! I will link to everyone who participates and leaves a link to their 13 things. Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!

 

7 Responses to “Thursday Thirteen #4”

  1. Terri Says:

    There’s nothing worse than tossing and turning and NOT being able to sleep. Silly as it sounds…have you tried the old stand-by….warm milk?
    Sure hope this ends for you soon.

  2. Susan Helene Gottfried Says:

    Oh, no! Insomnia SUCKS.

    When I can’t sleep, I work on my fictional world. I create scenes, rewrite my favorites, get to know the characters better. I’ve found that not only does it take the stress out of being awake, but I wind up with great blog fodder!

    Hang in there; you’ll find a cure.

    Happy TT!

  3. amy Says:

    Have you tried Tylenol PM? its just tylenol plus benadryl and cheaper than buying just the benadryl and you dont have the hangover feeling

  4. Terra Says:

    I also use the tylenol PM. I also went back to walking the dogs at least once a day, helps a lot. If I still can’t sleep I also either watch boring TV or read something boring (like those hour long commericals, or my accounting books!)

  5. ms-teacher Says:

    I feel your pain. This week, I’ve been suffering horribly from insomnia and it sucks. Luckily, it happened at a “good” time of year in that because we have so many students absent due to the holiday break, I don’t do much teaching, a lot of make-up work for those students who are there. Today, we watched movies. When I got home, I crashed for two hours and I’m hoping I’ll be able to make it tomorrow (non-student day, but I still have work).

  6. debby Says:

    Wow! That does not sound like fun. I once tried some natural stuff, but alas, I’ve forgotten what they were. Sorry, I probably made things worse. I’ll be back when I find out what it was.

  7. Douglas Cootey Says:

    Boy, can I feel your pain. So many people think a few sleepless nights is insomnia, but they need to walk in our shoes for a while to experience the true meaning of the word. I’ve tried Ambien and natural Melatonin but both started to affect me adversely. Ambien made me hallucinate. That’s all I needed… :/ So I don’t mess with drugs.

    The trick is to learn how to relax your mind and to have several things that work to help you relax and cycle through them when they stop being effective. The problem is that what works for one person often doesn’t work for another. For example, I use chinese therapy balls to help myself get sleepy, but some people would find them too noisy to induce sleep.

    Good luck finding your personal magic bullets to knock insomnia dead. My schedule is all upside down again because of late night wrapping. It’s 8:17am and I haven’t been to bed yet. Even Chinese balls won’t work for me tonight. I’ll just go until I crash… Anyway, I wish you well.

    ~Douglas

    My Thursday Thirteen


Leave a Reply

