Who are these kids and why are they calling me mom?

Sometimes you just have to put on your big girl panties and deal with it

Interactive Faith Builders – Joy #2 December 13, 2006

Filed under: Faith,Family,Life,Meme — Steph @ 1:33 am

And on that day they offered great sacrifices, rejoicing because God had given them great Joy. The women and children also rejoiced. The sound of rejoicing in Jerusalem could be heard far away. Nehemiah 12:43

Rejoice, by definition means:

1. to be glad; take delight (often fol. by in): to rejoice in another’s happiness.
2. to make joyful; gladden: a song to rejoice the heart.

Discussion: How awesome would it be if today, in our daily life, our entire city could hear our rejoicing from far away! In what areas of your own life do you recognize lack of joy and thanksgiving? Is your heart joyful in the everyday mundane stuff?

Again I am late this week. I figured better late than never!

This week’s topic was easier for me than last week’s! How sad is that?! I definitely recognize lack of joy in my day to day mundane tasks. The alarm is my enemy in the mornings. I truly loathe the sound of that machine. How can a machine make you so miserable? Mornings are hectic here, although not as hectic as they apparently are at Heather’s house! I am simply faced with balancing Joey and Elizabeth and I am blessed enough to have two very healthy children. Mornings are a difficult time of day around here all of the time, but especially so on the month’s Joe’s away for work. I often have to feed Elizabeth with one hand while helping Joey brush his teeth with the other! I always worry I’ll start his day off badly when I’m cross with him. I’m not a morning person on the best of days, so to add a deadline in there makes me a really fun person! I learned early on to set out his clothes the night before and plan out his breakfast with him the night before. That takes so much of the stress off! Being “almost 7” (according to him, 6 has disappeared entirely) he is really so great at getting himself situated, but he definitely has the attention span of the typical “almost 7-year-old” and I spend a great deal of time saying “Joey, please stop coloring and get dressed, you can color after school today.” It would be nice if I could stop long enough to thank God my son can dress himself and isn’t dependent on me to do such a simple task for him. I do have a friend who’s son is severely handicapped, he can’t dress himself, feed himself, speak, walk, and truly, he doesn’t even know who she is. Over the years it’s been good for me to stop and remind myself what her daily routines might be like and really stop to thank God I have a son who knows my name and can color me a picture, even at the most in-opportune times! Even knowing this though and stopping to think of it, I find myself having to do just that, stop and think of it. It should definitely be something I don’t have to remind myself of and it would be lovely to get to that point, but honestly, I just can’t seem to do it. Mornings are hectic around here and often just quite exhausting. I am definitely not re-joy-cing while I do my daily housekeeping when I should be thinking of those less fortunate out there who don’t have a house to keep! When Joey gets off the school bus and the afternoon turmoil begins, instead of thinking again, how lucky I am to have a child who can ride the school bus and who comes home full of energy, I find myself gearing up for a night packed full of homework, coloring, dinnertime, toys scattered, baths, and eventually bedtime. So I guess the answer is, I am not joyful in or thankful for the everyday mundane things, and I really should work harder to be just that because those everyday things are things I take for granted much too often!


 

Leave a Reply

