Who are these kids and why are they calling me mom?

Sometimes you just have to put on your big girl panties and deal with it

Christmas Favorites… December 4, 2006

Filed under: Family,Quiz — Steph @ 2:00 am

1. Egg nog or hot chocolate?
That’s a tough one, I probably have to say Egg Nog
2. Does Santa wrap presents or just set them under the tree?
Puts them under the tree, and if they’re too big they go next to the tree in front of the fireplace!
3. Colored lights or white?
Colored, and not the small ones, the big, bright, old fashioned ones!
4. Do you hang mistletoe?
Nope, don’t really need it!
5. When do you decorate for Christmas?
Usually I am very late. This year I am ready to decorate for a change, I am really feeling the spirit of the Season so I am waiting for Joe to return from Australia and I’m hoping we can decorate this weekend.
6.
What is your favorite holiday dish, excluding dessert?
Dressing (stuffing), it’s my favorite over dessert!
7.
Favorite holiday memory as a child?
When I was young we would all gather at my grandma’s house to have a fun dinner and open our packages on Christmas Eve. My aunts, uncles, cousins, all of us would spend the evening together enjoying each other’s company. We stopped doing that several years ago, I’m not really sure why other than each family grew and grew and it was more difficult to get all of us together. So, now that my brother and I are older and have our own children, we all get together at my mom and dad’s house on Christmas Eve and enjoy a good meal, each other’s company, and of course the kids enjoy the gifts!
8. When and how, did you learn the truth about Santa?
What truth? I still believe in Santa! My dad always said “Santa’s real as long as you believe in him”. Santa lives in your heart. Christmas is about miracles and faith after all.
9.
Do you open a gift on Christmas Eve?
Yes, see above. :o)

10. How do you decorate your Christmas tree?
My Christmas tree is a personal thing for me, no colored themes, etc… My tree is decorated with 20 + years of ornaments given to me by each of my grandparents, a few I made, and a few given to me by my great grandparents and other family members. Most are dated and reflect who I was that year (most of mine have kitties because each and every year I was a cat lover). They’re very special to me. In continuing with the tradition Joey (and I’m sure Elizabeth starting this year) each add their own special ornaments given to them by their grandparents and great grandparents and made at school and one day they’ll take those ornaments and hopefully continue the tradition with their own families. Oh, and no tinsel because it’s very dangerous to have tinsel in a house with cats. :o)
11. Snow. Love it or hate it?
Absolutely love it, love everything about it! I Am really, really, praying for a White Christmas this year, we’ve not had one in at least 6 years!
12. Can you ice skate?
I have actually never tried! My son can as of this year, but I’m afraid at my age and in my current physical condition I would break something of vital importance!
13. Do you remember your favorite gift?
Yes, I don’t remember the year but I was given a Cabbage Patch Kid (I collected them) a neighbor found him and picked him up because she noticed the name on his birth certificate was the name of my great grandfather. It was a very special gift, my neighbor made several outfits for him. The local newspaper came out and took my picture with my doll and my great grandfather and ran the story on the front page. I still have the doll, one of the outfits, and a laminated copy of the newspaper article. I will cherish them forever.
14. What is the most important thing about the holidays to you?
Family and creating new traditions and memories
15. What is your favorite holiday dessert?
I am not a sweets person but I do enjoy Pecan pie and my mother-in-law just happens to make a wonderful Pecan pie as does my aunt so one of them usually makes one just for me. :o)
16. What is your favorite holiday tradition?
I would have to say just gathering with my family on both Christmas Eve and Christmas day.
17. What tops your tree?
Usually a brightly colored star. I am in search of the perfect angel this year though. The problem is we have low ceilings in our living room. :o(
18.
Which do you prefer, giving or receiving?
Giving, without a doubt.
19. What is your favorite Christmas song?
“Bells” when performed by the Trans Siberian Orchestra or “So This is Christmas” performed by John Lennon
20.
Candy canes. Yuck or yum?
Yum!! Especially with all of the fun flavors they have now! I’m not a big candy person, but this is one thing I will indulge in!

 

Leave a Reply

