Who are these kids and why are they calling me mom?

Sometimes you just have to put on your big girl panties and deal with it

Insomnia stinks… November 30, 2006

Filed under: Family,Life — Steph @ 12:01 pm

Insomnia is the bane of my existence. I can NOT sleep I swear. I try and try. I laid there and tossed and turned for 2 hours. Got up, worked on my blog and drank two cups of “Sleepytime tea”. Went back to bed at 2:30 after watching “A Different World” on Nickelodeon, and then tossed and turned for another hour. I am seriously exhausted today. I have been dealing with this for well over a year. Ambien doesn’t work anymore, Lunesta is horrible and leaves just a raunchy taste in your mouth that lasts for DAYS, and Benadryl works but makes me feel so lousy the next day. I do not know why this keeps happening. I usually don’t nap during the day, although today I am going to nap a little, Elizabeth usually takes naps this time of day so I am grabbing a blanket and snoozing in the chair. If I can snooze in the chair I won’t sleep as hard as I do in my bed so hopefully I’ll be able to sleep tonight. I swear I get one good night’s sleep a week and that’s only because I am just SO exhausted I can’t stay awake any longer.

I have a zillion things to do and no energy to do them and then I get fatigue headaches. I need to run to Wal-Mart and I dislike Wal-Mart on a good day, let alone a day when I feel so run down. Maybe I need some different vitamins or something, at this point I’d try anything!!

Joey has my sleeping habits, the only difference is he can stay up until really late and still get up the next morning and be full of energy, unlike me though he’ll be talking one second and snoring the next, he can fall right to sleep, Joe is the same way. Makes me nuts because I just can not do that. I know that’s my Chronic Fatigue, but if I get less than about 7 hours I am so tired I can not open my eyes and I never fall right to sleep, I always lay there for at least 30 minutes and usually it’s a lot longer. Elizabeth is the exact opposite of Joey and I. She sleeps a lot. She will take a 2 hour nap mid-morning to early afternoon, get up and play for a few hours, sleep for an hour in the evening (usually right at our dinner time which is nice) and then go back down by 10 PM. It’s like her internal clock won’t let her stay up past 10 PM. It’s really crazy. Yesterday she slept most of the afternoon and then was up until 10 PM and was of course asleep by 10:05 PM. It’s the craziest thing! Not that I’m complaining, she’s been that way since we brought her home and it’s so nice to have a baby that actually sleeps, but it would be nice if I could sleep at night like she can! I swear if you lay her in her crib she’s out in seconds!

Any ideas?

 

Leave a Reply

